Search Results

Search results 1-20 of 969.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is available! You can read all about it in the news.

  • Quote from Sergrum: “How do those figure differ when dealing with your own units? Can you overlap them? is it only the front of random mover that matter? ” Only the front facing matters. For the rest of the unit boundary, it doesn't make a difference if the other unit is friendly or enemy. b1 and b2 would be the same if the blue unit was friendly. In b3, the blue unit obviously wouldn't be charged if it was friendly , but the green unit's move would be backtracked to the last legal position inst…

  • Quote from Sergrum: “If a mad gitz is 8.1" from an enemy unit, and i roll 8" do i stop 1" away or bounce through doing 0 damage? ” The former, as it follows the rules for random movement (i.e. pursuits and overruns).

  • Quote from Adam: “Now a good question would be if it is intentional ” It is - there will even be an FAQ on that topic . Quote from 20phoenix: “Does Eyratoki in the Asklanders book grant two crush attacks? The wording says "can perform two crush attacks instead of one" but doesn't explicitly state the second comes from the item. Was wondering if you had to buy strength potion to get the second ” Both crush attacks come from the weapon enchantment. Potion of strength is pretty much useless on a mo…

  • Quote from HumanClay: “Quote from Eisenheinrich: “Quote from youngseward: “Just above that in 21.F.a Close Combat Weapons it says “the rules for a Close Combat Weapon are only applied when using the weapon in question (ie they dont apply to special attacks)”. Which would indicate to me that a model is only using a close combat weapon and enchantment when actually attacking with the weapon. ” And since this sentence caused confusion, we removed it in the most recent errata .So yes, the breath att…

  • Quote from DarkSky: “In DL book the manifestation is called Dextrous Tentacles. Same manifestation in Giant supplement is called Dexterous Tentacles. Which one will we use? ” The army book counts, the version in the supplement is a typo.

  • Quote from Ondjage: “Does hunting call enable the player to choose NOT to roll for ambush every turn of the game or only the first? ” Only the first.

  • Quote from Kisscool: “So, this part of the "Fleet officer" rule applies only to the bearer, ie the model's part High prince or Commander ? ” Correct. Quote from Kisscool: “But the Prince or Commander themself do not use the Sky reaper, ” Incorrect . Quote from Kisscool: “or I may miss something ” Yes, check the rules for inanimate: < 21.G.b.11 Inanimate – Close Combat Model parts with Inanimate cannot make Close Combat Attacks and cannot use Shooting Weapons. Shooting Weapons carried by model pa…

  • Quote from Cultivator: “Do wounds restored after the Maw's devour still count towards combat resolution? ” Sure. If the maw suffers e.g. 3 HP losses and gains 2 HP during a round of combat, the opponent will still get the 3 points combat score from the inflicted wounds.

  • Quote from Bloodgeyser: “I cannot find in the rulebook how it works ” You can find the rules in the BRB in chapter 5.C: < 5.C Characteristic Tests To perform a Characteristic Test, roll a D6. If the result is less than or equal to the value of the tested Characteristic, the test is passed. Otherwise the test is failed. A test always fails on the result of ‘6’. When a model with more than one value for a Characteristic takes a Characteristic Test, take a single test for the Multipart Model, using…

  • Quote from Borcha: “1) 11.B "At least one model in the Charging unit’s first rank must be able to draw Line of Sight to the Charged unit ’s Unit Boundary" Just to be sure: If you just see the unit bounddary but no model inside it, you could still charge right? ” Yes. Quote from Borcha: “2) 11.E.k Blocked Path: "...If this does not enable the Charged unit to align, it must be aligned with a Facing other than the Charged Facing...." If I do so I gain every avantage of a flank or rear charge right?…

  • Quote from Estebanvol: “Does this include the breath attack from Occultism or thauma in the case that the unit benefiting from the spell is out of the range of the chilling howl? ” No. The spell's effect is the target gaining a breath attack, not the damage inflicted with that breath attack. So if the wizard casting the spell is within range of chilling howl but the target of the spell isn't, chilling how will not have any effect on the breath attack. Quote from Estebanvol: “If a mage affected b…

  • @single model units: I'd argue that it's fairly clear that a single model unit is not a unit that consists of several single models . Besides, there are a few places in the BRB that explain/refer to single model units: < 3.B Units A unit is either a group of models deployed in a formation consisting of ranks (along the width of the unit) and files (along the length of the unit) or a single model operating on its own. 8.D.b Complex Unit Entries a) Certain units, like Characters, consist only of a…

  • Quote from Chronocide: “VS Meat Grinder is both a unit name and weapon name!?!?! The Meat Grinder is equipped with a Meat Grinder... ” Yes, not ideal, but since the VS book is currently being updated anyway, I don't think it's worth discussing a potential name change at this point.

  • Quote from Chronocide: “Every single Damage spell also has Hex. Why not just alter Damage so it only applies to enemy units? ” I guess design space - at one point we might want to introduce damage spells that could also affect friendly units.

  • Quote from Ondjage: “Is it possible to defend a wall and at the same time capture it if it has been chosen for king of the hill purposes? ” Sure: < Defending a Wall In order to Defend a Wall, more than half of a unit’s Front Facing must be in contact with it. > Put more than half of the unit's front facing onto (as in inside) the wall terrain feature and the unit will automatically be (at least partially) "inside" that wall. It is however not possible to gain hard cover behind a wall and claim i…

  • Quote from Sergrum: “Quote from Eisenheinrich: “Quote from Orion: “Also, since theyre not considered a shooting attack, does that mean that only the boosted version of chilling howl works on them? ” Releasing mad gits is not considered a shooting attack. The damage that mad gits inflict still is a ranged attack, not a shooting attack, so to-wound rolls from these attacks are (still) only affected by the boosted version of chilling howl. ” Since chilling howl is cast on a unit and then effects ev…

  • Quote from Echunia: “I think the errata resolves this question now: Quote from Errata: “The Conclave: Spells from Divination gain +3” range up to a maximum of +9” for each additional friendly Wizard within 12” of the Caster. This bonus can never increase the combined modifier beyond +9”, however other sources may. ” So now two ark wizards would get +3 +6 +6 = +15 range, as I understand it. ” Quote from Folomo: “My reading is that dual arks and the conclave rule can't be stacked, but the arks bon…

  • Quote from Orion: “With the new errata, a mad git can be used as a stand and shoot reaction ” Nothing has changed here - even before the erratum, mad gits were released with/as stand and shoot charge reactions. Quote from Orion: “Does that mean that if theres a unit of 5 sirens with centipede legs directly infront 9 inches away from the unit with fanatics and they charge it, the mad gits cannot be released?? ” That's how I'd read the rules for Surprise, yes: < Mad Gits can be released in two way…

  • Quote from Wesser: “1.SE unit inside a forest with Hereditary spell cast on them If an enemy unit charges them do they take two sets of DT's (only btb in case of spell)? Can you have forest inside a forest so to speak? ” You can have a forest in a say water terrain feature, so I'd argue that you can have a forest in a forest. Based on that, I'd treat them as two separate terrain features, i.e. yes, the charging models would have to take 2 DTTs. Quote from Wesser: “2. What does it mean that Mad G…

  • Quote from Hebus: “Does still it mean Marauding Giant with a Tribal Warspear can only join unit of Barbarians (unit entry from core) and not Barbarian Horsemen? ” Yes, only Barbarians, not Barbarian Horsemen. Quote from Hebus: “If that still the case, the errata did not make it clearer as if you miss the "s" at the end of Barbarian, you can easily think it apply to barbarian horsemen. ” Well, that's precisely why we added the "s" in the errata . Quote from Hebus: “More so with term "infantry" re…