Homogenization

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is here! You can read all about it in the news.

Our beta phase is finally over. Download The Ninth Age: Fantasy Battles, 2nd Edition now!

• Homogenization

Theres gotta be some way to break up the cookie cutter crap we are seeing in a lot of lists. The Barrow King BSB for instance is 99% identical in almost every list that has the character. Its almost worth the trouble of adding an "originality" section to tournament scoring.
    I am going to offend you. You are not going to like it. You will survive.

Chaotic Neutral
    youtube.com/channel/UCJ9e5C1f26iuvhOA33rsFJQ

Model Reviews with Twice the Brain Injuries!
  • I think it just might be human nature. I'm not a pro player, so take from this what you want, but I find it an interesting notion that the choices taken the most might not always be the most op things out there. Maybe more due to most players copying a few with original ideas and success, thus creating meta.
    E.g. with the barrow king BSB I have vague memories from occasionally visiting the VC forums that not too long ago somebody mentioned this cowboy and nearly getting stoned to death because it's stupid and would never work because of crumble. Probably someone just tried it (sucessfully) and voilà.
    Maybe there are plenty other things out there waiting to be found by bold players (and waiting to get copied).
    ...or maybe not lolllz.
    doing the Lorenzo Lupo Workout everyday till Iron Crowns AB is released
  • I have to agree with ToDD on this. Going with the VC cowboy example, there were no major changes that suddenly made this viable. Someone came up with the idea one day and it just stuck. As more people used it, there became more examples of how to use it well, and so even more people jump on the bandwagon.