Bound Spells

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is available! You can read all about it in the news.

  • 13.J Bound Spells
    Bound Spells can also be cast by models that are not Wizards, but possessing a Bound Spell does not make a model a Wizard. A Bound Spell is a spell that is usually contained in a magical artefact of some sort. Bound Spells cannot be used to cast Boosted versions of the spell they contain. A Bound Spell containing a spell from a Path with an Attribute also automatically contains the Path Attribute Spell.

    13.J.a Power Level
    13.J.b Casting a Bound Spell
    13.J.b.1 Bound Spell Casting Attempt
    13.J.b.2 Bound Spell Dispelling Attempt
    (Click for full text)
    13.J Bound Spells
    Bound Spells can also be cast by models that are not Wizards, but possessing a Bound Spell does not make a model a Wizard. A Bound Spell is a spell that is usually contained in a magical artefact of some sort. Bound Spells cannot be used to cast Boosted versions of the spell they contain. A Bound Spell containing a spell from a Path with an Attribute also automatically contains the Path Attribute Spell.

    13.J.a Power Level
    All Bound Spells have two Power Levels, given as values in brackets (usually Power Level (4/8)). The first value is the Bound Spell’s primary Power Level. This is used when the Bound Spell is cast with 2 Magic Dice. The second value is the Bound Spell’s secondary Power Level, and is used when the Bound Spell is cast with 3 Magic Dice.

    13.J.b Casting a Bound Spell
    Casting a Bound Spell ignores the normal Casting Attempt rules, and instead follows a different procedure. Each of the Active Player’s non-Fleeing models with Bound Spells may attempt to cast each of its Bound Spells up to one time per Magic Phase. This model is referred to as the Caster. Bound Spells can be cast even if the same spell has already been cast earlier in the same Magic Phase. Casting a Bound Spell does not prevent the casting of the same spell later in the same Magic Phase, even as non-Bound Spell.

    13.J.b.1 Bound Spell Casting Attempt
    1: The Active Player declares which model will cast which Bound Spell, and whether they will use 2 or 3 Magic Dice. If applicable, the Active Player also declares the targets of the spell. The spell is always cast with the basic version as Bound Spells cannot be Boosted.
    2: The Active Player removes the chosen number of Magic Dice (2 or 3) from their Magic Dice pool (do not roll them).
    3: The Casting Attempt is always passed.
    Note that Bound Spells that contain a spell from a Path with an Attribute automatically also contain the Path Attribute Spell, and that unless specifically stated otherwise Casting Modifiers are not applied to the casting roll of a Bound Spell.

    13.J.b.2 Bound Spell Dispelling Attempt
    Dispelling a Bound Spell works exactly like dispelling a Learned Spell. If 2 Magic Dice were removed the casting roll is equal to the Bound Spell’s primary Power Level. If 3 Magic Dice were removed the casting roll is equal to the Bound Spell’s secondary Power Level.

    6,004 times viewed