A Newb's Foray Into Miniature Painting

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• A Newb's Foray Into Miniature Painting

So, I finally have some minis. I recently got those halfling minis from that kickstarter, as well as that mini from Shieldwolf Miniatures... Now what?

Yes, I have no idea what I am doing. I don't know what paints to use, how to prep the minis, or even what tools are needed. I am a complete and utter newb. So please help. Seriously...

Recommendations for the following would be appreciated:
      Paints
      Starter Kits
      Tutorials (of any variety)

Also, just outright instructing me yourselves is welcome. Just do be polite and patient, while doing so.

Oh, I almost forgot, the models are not the made of the same material. The halfling miniatures are metal, and the Shieldwolf Miniature is Resin... So that will probably complicate things...

Pictures will hopefully follow, assuming I can figure out how to get the camera on my laptop working... Or I could just get off my butt and purchase a proper camera... Meh.

Consequently, whatever I produce will probably look like a horrible mess. So if anyone reading this is expecting to see a masterpiece, you better move on. Whatever I paint could very well not ONLY look terrible, but also cause sanity damage.

So, goodbye for now. God bless. Keep the dice rolling, the paints drying, and don't let the gobbos stick ya... Unless YOU are one of the gobbos, then... Well... Good luck?

Campaign Team

• Okay some basic tips for a starting modeller:

Step 1: Tools:

There are some things that every kind of modeller should have:
      1. Sharp hobby knife like this waylandgames.co.uk/army-painte…517-precision-hobby-knife to remove moldlines and cut away anything you dont want or need. Be careful with these because they really are sharp and you can get nasty cuts if you slip.