I believe that the kadim could not charge in the first place(judging from the picture) and he required the warriors to charge first for him to have enough space to get into BTB, but as soon as they declared a charge there was no way for him to fit. Hence - IMO the charge was not possible for the Titan.You need to take the rules for Multiple Charges and Declaring Charges into consideration:<9.B.b.5 Multiple ChargesThat charge was not possible for the kadim, so he did not fail a charge.Last weekend the following situation arose in a tournament game:
In picture 1, my opponent @Tui-tui charged a kadim titan + infernal warriors into a unit of giant rats. Giant rats pass their terror check. Then, both units are charging on the giant rat's front arc. Since both units cant fit, one has to fail the charge, but then two scenarios are possible.
Scenario 2, infernal warriors charge giant rats, not rotating them, maximizing as usual. Kadim titan fails the charge.
Scenario 3, kadim titan charge the giant rats, rotating them, infernal warriors fails the charge.
In my opinion, scenario 3 is not possible as per 9.B..b.4 2nd priority states that "Not rotating the charged unit at all. If rotating the charged unit is unavoidable, rotate the unit as little as possible." Thus, rotating giant rats is avoidable, simply making infernal dwarves succesfully charge, like in scenario 2.
He argued that he can choose the order he makes the charge rolls, which is correct, but I counter-argued that maximizing contact priorities 9.B.b.4 need to be applied and thus forcing him rolling charges in a different order than desired (infernal warriors first, kadim second).
In the end we played scenario 3, since my captain @Kradkaros wisely told us that it wouldn't matter much anyways.
So, did we play it well? are both options 2 and 3 correct? or only option 2, due to 9.B.b.4?
If more than one unit has Declared a Charge against a single enemy unit, charges are moved in a slightly different
manner. Roll Charge Range for each unit charging that same unit before moving any of them. Once it has been
established which units will reach their target, move all charging units (including those failing their charge) in the
order that best satisfies the priority order of the Maximising Contact rule. See figure 7 for an example.
9.B Declaring Charges
(...) In order to be able to Declare a Charge:
- there must be enough room to move the charging unit into base contact with its target. When considering if
there is enough room, do not take potential Flee Charge Reactions into account (not even mandatory ones),
but do take already declared charges into account (since charging models might have a chance to move out of
So strictly speaking, once the infernal warriors have declared the charge, the kadim titan no longer has enough room to charge the enemy unit, because in order to satisfy the priority order for maximising contact, the infernal warriors will have to charge first (so that the enemy unit does not have to be rotated), i.e. the kadim titan could not have declared the charge.
What you can do however is declare the charge first with the kadim titan and then with the infernal warriors. In this case the warriors will charge first and the titan will fail his charge.
Summoning @Tui-tui, question answered