Anselmus Background Team

  • Male
  • 40
  • from Helsinki, Finland, EU
  • Member since Feb 24th 2016
Last Activity

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

About Me
About Me
Name
Ilkka

How old are you?
40

Where are you from and where do you live right now?
Born in Helsinki, Finland, and live here.

What do you do for a living?
Historian, with bits of Archaeology and a strong emphasis on socio-economics. My interests range from medieval to modern.

Since when are you in the hobby?
On-off periods since late 80's. New and continuing interest since 2008.

How did you get into the hobby and what have you done since then?
I've built models and played hex-based tactical games since the 80's. The first games with models I played were self-made and involved Matchbox, Airfix and Esci WW2 models and figures. I had my first, brief contact with Warhammer at the end of the 80's, but apart from panting some of my friend's Snotlings, I didn't do much. In the 90's I studied several rules sets and bought some models, but decided the hobby was too expensive for me.

In 2008, a good friend started and RPG campaign in Warhammer Old World, and as we played mercenaries, it pretty soon involved the battles game. Then somebody said, 'We need the figures', and I was completely sold. Within two years, we bought & jointly painted Empire, Orcs & Goblins and Vampire Counts armies, and added various individual units of Dwarfs, Ogres, and more. SInce that campaign ended, I have continued collecting & painting models and playing games with less back story. The first tournament I attended was in 2011.

Which armies do you play/possess?
I don't have any models for ID and UD, and I don't have army-sized forces for DE, HBE and VS. The rest I have and could play if I had painted them (never play with unpainted models!). My chief armies models wise are BH, EoS, DH and O&G. Of these, my first and true love is EoS. I mostly play infantry heavy EoS.

Why do you support the 9th Age project?
I'm very exited about the 9th Age. Partly because the EoS book feels like the Empire I've always wanted to see on tabletop, and partly because the whole process of writing the 9th Age is interesting, and pro-community. I think this is the way to go. I'm a casual and fluff-oriented player, and I very much think that good & balanced rules support this aspect of the hobby. I've always taken responsibility of my hobbies, so it's natural to be active in the 9th Age project.

What is your personal role in the 9th Age project team?
I joined the Background Team towards the end of Nov 2016, because I felt I could do more for the project. As a newer member, my job has included getting to know the other staff, learning the working methods, brainstorming and supporting & fleshing out others' ideas. My chief interest is to keep the World of the 9th Age internally consistent, especially regarding economic and socio-cultural aspects.
Personal Details
Birthday
Mar 22nd 1976 (40)
Gender
Male
Location
Helsinki, Finland, EU
Occupation
Historian
Hobbies
Role-playing, badminton, playing with kids, reading, writing, painting, tabletop