Search Results

Search results 1-20 of 1,000. There are more results available, please enhance your search parameters.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is here! You can read all about it in the news.

  • Quote from Lagerlof: “I'm gonna go out and say the unit that is charged have to be unengaged, not because the rule say so (becasue I can't find anything about it), but because how the hell would you combat reform a unit that is also in contact with another unit? @Eisenheinrich Your take? ” Quote from Ezekiel57: “@Lagerlof That was the situation: A wants to charge B. B is a single model unit like an auroch. A is on the flank of B but A cannot complete his charge because of C (and cannot contact C…

  • Quote from 2Cats1Tuna: “Both characters enter a duel. Now they are in base contact (as per BRB rules) right? So Kingslayer benefits from this? ” Correct. Quote from 2Cats1Tuna: “Am I technically in contact with 4 enemy characters now (for Kingslayer purposes)? ” Yes.

  • Quote from Lagerlof: “It's gonna be clarified in the errata, unless it already is (but I couldnt find it). @Eisenheinrich Was this update missed or am I blind? ” Neither . The errata haven't been updated yet, that'll happen soon. Quote from Jaina: “Quote from WastelandWarrior: “Correct overruns dont benefit from blocked path ” Cannot find any data in the rules validating this statement. What paragraph so you refer to ? The info I have are : p74 ; paragraph 2.2. (about pursuit/overrun) : If the f…

  • Quote from Imperial Duck: “An EoS Inquisitor can take a silver shots upgrade to gain a shooting attack attribute that gives reroll to wound on shooting attacks. Could this upgrade be used to modify the shooting attack breath weapon on the dragon staff? It is a shooting attack attribute afterall. ” Quote from elendor_f: “A Breath Attack is a Special Attack and those are not affected by Attack Attributes unless specifically stated (P.114, 21.H). However when using it at range it is indeed used a S…

  • Quote from Adam: “Interesting, Giant solo would have 1 full rank but when he joins marauders he looses it? ” Yes: < 3.B.b Full Ranks The Height of a unit determines how many models are needed in a rank in order to form a Full Rank (see “Model Classification ”, page 87 ). Units of Standard Height need 5 models, Large units need 3 models, and Gigantic units need 1 model. 19.C Classification of Units Some rules call for a unit’s Height or Type, e.g. for determining how many models are required for …

  • Quote from Laik: “can Seaguard make sns when a machine is being charged? ” With "machine" you mean a sea guard reaper? Sure, that model has martial discipline.

  • Quote from Lagerlof: “Quote from Kevin Bromley: “Giant with tribal warspear in a unit with only 2 barbarians left alive, how many ranks? If he doesn't count as having a rank, due to the majority of the unit being standard, does that allow standard height models to block LOS to the giants unit? ” They are 5 wide so the unit has 1 full rank. LoS is drawn on model bases. So he’s still gigantic for LoS ” Quote from Micalovits: “Arent they just 4 wide? Giant is 50mm +2 25mm barbarians? ” Correct, 4 w…

  • Quote from Kisscool: “Unstable and steadfast, and necromantic aura Let s say a unit of undead loose a combat with a combat result of 14. The unit is steadfast and under the effect of a necromantic aura. How many Health Point losses does it suffer ? - 14-1 then reduced to 12 = 12 - or 14 reduced to 12, -1 = 11 ” < 21.A.a.36 Undead The model gains Unstable . Models with Undead cannot perform March Moves, unless their unit starts the March Move within the range of a friendly model’s Commanding Pres…

  • Quote from Gingersmali: “thanks, is this the same for say a forest? I thought that was three sets, one for moving through open terrain, one for entering wood and one for entering open terrain again. ” Nope. Check the Rules Explained in Figures document. Pretty much exactly this situation is covered on page 29.

  • Quote from Scylla: “- Page 5, 4. The Orc Broods allow to select from broods of Common Orcs, Feral Orcs and Iron Orcs. age 7, 1. About Flying Pigs states that the winner may "claim the title of Iron Orc Chef". Is it intended? Does it make sense, even for orcs? ” I assume "Iron Orc Chef" is a reference to the TV cooking show "Iron Chef": en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iron_Chef

  • Quote from TheSpid: “I think you're missing something. This modifier is different. Normally limitations are applied to the result of the stat, however this is applied to the result of the modifier. ” Perfectly possible that I'm missing something - I still don't see the problem. I see that there is a difference between this case and e.g. a strength modifier with a max. strength value. But we also have other limited modifiers in the game where the limitations are not absolute values, e.g. Abyssal …

  • Quote from Laksen: “Think we are a few (read alot) that have been making that mistake and i think WarX is ringt on this note that if this is not the case there should be a rewording on div, saying it cant get a range bonus above 9 no matter what... ” "No matter what" is not the case. Any modifier applied at priority step 4 can override the max +9" (a hypothetical "all spells cast by the wizard always have their range increased by +12" would do that for instance, due to the keyword "always"). Oth…

  • Quote from WarX: “Divination doesn't specify that range of spells is limited only to bonuses from it's own rule. ” Following this line of argument, you would have to specify for every modification limit that it does not only apply to its actual source but to all other modifiers as well? Do you claim that e.g. in < Ranger’s Boots The bearer gains Strider and, unless using Flying Movement, +2″ Advance Rate up to a maximum of 10″, and +4″ March Rate up to a maximum of 20″. > the max 10" and max 20"…

  • Quote from duxbuse: “is pursuit mode for a scrap wagon an optional ability, or is it always active? ” Whenever you roll the random movement distance in the movement phase, you have to roll 4 dice and discard the lowest, no choice there.

  • Quote from Nirnel: “So, what does Frenzy mean while engaged in combat? ” This part of Frenzy is relevant for Impetuous: < (...) Restrain Pursuit Tests taken by units with at least one model with Frenzy are subject to Maximised Roll. >

  • Both the ark and the conclave from divination are spell range modifiers: - add +6″ to the range of their non-Bound Spells for each Ark of Ages they are within 12″ of - Spells from Divination gain +3″ range up to a maximum of +9″ for each additional friendly Wizard within 12″ of the Caster One of them has no upper limit, the other one does. As explained above, both happen at priority step 3 of the priority of modifiers. The order in which you apply them in the example above matters: - if you firs…

  • Quote from firelance: “a hierarch on ark of ages gets a +6 bonus to his range.What if he is a divination wizard and has 2 more wizards near him.Does his range bonus increase to +12 or remains at +9 ” The latter. Due to 6.D Priority of Modifiers ("When several modifiers within a group are to be applied to a value (e.g. a Characteristic value), apply them in the order that results in the lowest value."), you first apply the +6" from the ark, then +3" for the first wizard, and then the second +3" i…

  • If you need a "visual aid" what formations including a war platform could look like, have a look at the Rules Explained in Figures document: The FAQs don't have anything to do with your question but the figures on page 17 (orange), 26, and 36 (g) show examples of units containing war platforms.

  • Quote from Altor von Drak: “I believe it is only the shield bearers that get harnessed attacks, but I may be wrong about that. The dwarf lord/thane would not get harnessed as part of his stat line. ” Offensive statlines are specific for model parts, so any model rule stated in an offensive statline only applies to the corresponding model part. In case of the shield bearers, only the shield bearers are harnessed, the "rider" isn't.

  • Quote from Kisscool: “Impetuous A unit consisting entirely of models with this rule may reroll failed Charge Range rolls. The model gains Frenzy and Fearless while Engaged in Combat. The unit gains Frenzy all the time, or only while engaged in combat ? ” Only while engaged.