Search Results

Search results 1-20 of 752.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is available! You can read all about it in the news.

  • Quote from rolan: “We have a rule set that is very balanced and fair, and emphasizes skill above list creation a lot. ” That's debatable to what extent it values skill over list creation given the RPS nature of certain things, although it's certainly the intent. Quote from rolan: “Every change to the basics has more impact on this balance as one can easily predict. So we should not fight for basic changes on a whim or a different imagination. It could ruin a good game. ” Could, not will. The rul…

  • We could implement a mechanic where you determine which models that have had wounds caused to them are removed as casualties. HP values then go from being how many wounds can this model sustain before being removed, to how many wounds this model can sustain before being forced to check if they are a casualty. It would give monsters and the like a lot more survivability in terms of suffering wounds, but they'de not need to be so hard to harm as a result. Equally, characters could get less wounds …

  • Quote from rolan: “the idea was that 5 bowmen should be afraid that the hydra just killed the other 8, and they should not be steadfast - that would also be silly. (as silly as those same 5 guys not having a problem with being steadfast if the hydra had wings ...) ” I think the solution to that is to change rank total to become supporting rank total, the first rank becomes completely meaningless in all situations. That and we allow anything gigantic, flying or otherwise to have a rank bonus all …

  • Unofficially somebody on the clarity team could easily have a look at it and point out anything that needs changing.

  • Magic resistance

    theunwantedbeing - - Suggestions


    Quote from rolan: “But it does not really represent MR as I see it from my RPG background. In most settings, MR cancels spell effects, it doesn't make it harderto cast. That could be represented by an effect check: If a unit with MR is affected by a spell that is just cast, roll a die, if the roll is equal or higher than 7-MR, the spell has no effect for this unit. Check for both friendly and enemy spells. ” Alternative version Roll a D6 equal to the X value in brackets. If the value is equal to…

  • Magic resistance

    theunwantedbeing - - Suggestions


    Quote from RomanRagnorak: “But Bound Spells of course remain what they are, which is why the innate MR of Dwarves doesn't affect the casting of their spells. This would possibly make more bound spells viable or allow them to introduce more bound spells since they circumvent MR. ” Yuck, a gamey-gimmick.

  • Quote from Sergrum: “If i contact a mad gitz when closing the door are the hits split in the combat or only onto my unit? ” Just your unit.

  • Quote from Borcha: “Quote from AEnoriel: “You don't have to choose when to use it, it "activates" itself the first time (as written in the rule) your model suffers an unsaved multiwound. Once against this particular multiwound. Then, you better kill your opponent quickly... ” My question was not if I need to activate it, but if it could work against more than one wound. Because if more than one multiwound wound me at the same time, do I "choose" wich one I halve or the item work for all Melee At…

  • Quote from Sergrum: “Page 13 figure 7 It looks like LOS extends to the left through unit boundary. I know for the purpose of SEEING a unit the boundary counts, but does a unit boundary block LOS as well even if no models are in that space? ” Only the models within the Unit Boundary block LOS, the Unit Boundary by itself does not.

  • Quote from AlexCat: “Quote from theunwantedbeing: “Quote from Orion: “How does Know Thyself from a Deceiver interact with EoS Locket of Sunna? ” Locket of Sunna swaps stats, then when it's time for the Deceiver to attack Know Thyself is applied. ” Sorry to dragginh this out again.I was told that Locket's extra attacks count as modifier, so Deceiver doesnt get them. Is it right? ” No.

  • Quote from Chronocide: “I really hate the "stacking multiple instances of the same rule" bit. Pretty much every tabletop game/RPG I've played in the last 10 years has some rule that prevents like bonuses from stacking. I hope T9A3 does away with this, or at least words the rules so the number of stacks matters. If I'm not ID, should I really have to keep track of how many times Flaming my unit is? It doesn't do more if I'm flaming twice.... ” Are you on about incendiary markers?

  • Quote from Chronocide: “Quote from theunwantedbeing: “The real solution involves putting round bases on all single models ” That is exactly what AoS did. ” It isn't. AoS put all models on round bases. Units would stay with square bases.

  • Quote from Tyranno: “Quote from WhammeWhamme: “*waves hands* you've found the solutions guys. Either characters that buff units, or characters that can't leave 'em. ID even has both (Taurukh Commissioner and Vassal Chieftain respectively). ” Well if you have to fix a problem in the main book in every armybook, then that's a band-aid solution. ” It's a viable solution though, albeit one that'll probably take a decade to fully implement. Quote from Tyranno: “Admittedly, I don't know what the real …

  • Quote from Tyranno: “This isn't about punishing good play. It's about stopping monsters from punching one person's shoulder and somehow killing 6 guys. ” Swirling melee, the game is an abstraction, the armies aren't really taking turns moving and shooting at each other.

  • Both cases grant a 4+ Aegis while the spell is in effect. For the first instance you have: - Hand (6+) (+1, max 3+) - Luck (+1, max 4+) Total 4+ For the second instance you have: - Hand (6+) (+1, max 3+) - Hand (6+) (+1, max 3+) Total 4+ and 4+ (although you can only use one of them)

  • 1. No, first line of the Lance rules. The bonus only applies to attacks allocated against enemies in the models front facing. 2. The +1 is for charging that turn, it doesn't matter if they wiped the enemy out or not.

  • Quote from Hebus: “Quote from vince3310: “Quote from Eisenheinrich: “Could you please draw a situation where this would happen? ” Something like that. My fanatics start to the right of my cave goblins unit. Then it goes to the right within 1'' of my iron orcs.The distance is not enough to end its mouvement at 1'' from Iron orcs. But the backtrack didn't bring my fanatic to a valid position... ” Didn't see an answer to this question. ” It's going to get errata'd as it's a situation not covered by…

  • Quote from Pica25: “So a SE prince on dragon or HBE Commander on Griffon does not have the -1 ld nor have to take a fear tests, but still needs to pass panic tests, correct ? ” Correct! Quote from Pica25: “That part is a bit confusing I must say ” I think you're getting tripped up by the similar names and how they both provide an immunity to fear. They're different rules, having one wont grant the other.

  • Quote from Pica25: “When a mount has fear or is gigantic, does the rider also has fear (no panic tests) ? For instance a SE prince on dragon or HBE Commander on Griffon ” It's a universal rule so the entire model is affected.

  • Quote from Chronocide: “Pretty sure I can't, but having trouble finding where it says this. Can I buy a weapon enchantment for a weapon my mount has? ” You're not prevented from doing that as far as I can see. We only seem to state the model can purchase special items, not model part.