Correct. The rear rank can never be wider than the front rank according to 3.B Units. I don't think we have a rule that explicitely covers this situation (i.e. that tells you that you have to move the caiman forwards, replacing a skink to the second rank), but that's the only way how to do it without actually changing the unit's formation).If he takes enough casualties to reduce him to 7 skinks (including the character), does a caiman have to move forward and a skink back in order to maintain the 8 wide formation (and keep there from being a wider back rank of caimans than the front)?
Doesn't matter imo. You have to maintain the 8-wide formation, i.e. one caiman still has to come forwards.What if he only had 3 caimans left so would still be wider than the back caiman rank even without shifting?
Correct.If I kill all the skinks and there are two caimans remaining with the character, the character becomes a mismatching base and would not contribute to full ranks right?