Should I start to play T9A now? Why?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is here! You can read all about it in the news.

Our beta phase is finally over. Download The Ninth Age: Fantasy Battles, 2nd Edition now!

• Should I start to play T9A now? Why?

Baranovich wrote:

There needs to be a positive thread called, "Why I'm still playing 9th Age". This thread is grinding into another rules debate, which can go in circles forever. :) ...although I am all in favor of any positive discussion over improving the layout or ease of understanding the rules.
      There are some who are still playing.
      Some have not started, or hardly.
      What can you say to incite playing T9A:FB, for someone who has not found yet the time/envy/investment/whatever reason?

Social Media Team

UN Coordinator, aka UNSG

- druchii.net contribution: The 9th Age - Dread Elves
    • I started playing because I like this kind of game. I played WHFB 8th Edition and enjoyed the style of game (and especially the hobby aspect. It is nice to have an outlet for my creative tendencies), but found myself making house rules or banning specific types of lists due to their extreme unfun nature. T9A doesn't have any of that. The game is fun to play.

I keep playing T9A because it is just a good time. I get to hang out with friends, and play a fun game. There isn't any egregious BS to contend with (no purple sun, no white lion death stars with the banner of brokenness, no 1+3++ flying blenders, etc.), so we can bring whatever lists we want and have a good time. That doesn't mean that a haphazard list will do as well as a carefully crafted list, but it does mean that in most cases, the game will be determined by skill rather than by broken tools.

The game play is fun, and the fact that I can make my army how I want without being compelled to buy the "official" models makes me happy.