Priority of modifiers

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is here! You can read all about it in the news.

Our beta phase is finally over. Download The Ninth Age: Fantasy Battles, 2nd Edition now!

  • Priority of modifiers

    Greetings,
    Looking for some clarification on the priority sequence of adding modifiers to attacks or saves. When reading through the rules on page 17 we are getting confused by what seems to be contradictory information, though I'm sure we are just not reading it correctly.
    It seemed to us that the statement:

    9th age rulebook wrote:

    When several modifiers within a group are to be applied to a dice roll (e.g. for Aegis Saves, to-hit rolls, to-wound
    rolls), apply them in the order that results in the lowest success chance of the roll.
    and then the following exanple:

    9th age rulebook wrote:

    Table 1: Priority of Modifiers.
    For example, if a model is affected by (A) “The model’s attacks gain +1 to hit” and (B) “Attacks made with this weapon
    are set to hit on 4+”, first apply modifier (B), since modifiers using the “set” mechanic are applied in priority step 1,
    and then apply the +1 modifier, as modifiers using addition are applied in priority step 3. The final result would be
    the model’s attacks hitting on 3+.
    Seem to contradict one another?

    So for example in the case of KoE lets say you have a duke with grail oath getting a 5+ aegis and having faith of percival granting +1 aegis, the priority order in the chart on page 17 would elude to the 5+ effect stacking first then adding the +1 but it is my understanding from the forum and the first quote above that you would apply them in the order that gives the worst outcome. And if that is the case would the example given in the second quote not also be incorrect as it should be done in the order that gives the lowest result.
    Hope that makes sense.
    Thanks for your time.
  • Beaugamiel wrote:

    Seem to contradict one another?
    Here you have 2 different groups.

    The passus you quote:

    9th Age Rulebook wrote:

    When several modifiers within a group are to be applied to a dice roll (e.g. for Aegis Saves, to-hit rolls, to-wound
    rolls), apply them in the order that results in the lowest success chance of the roll.
    is if 2 (or more) modifiers happen within a group (the groups are the 4 steps)
    For example "attacks made with this weapon are set to hit on 4+" and "attacks made with this weapon are set to hit on 2+".
    Those are in the same group (set) and thus apply at the same time. Rather than chosing what you want, you now have to chose whatever gives the worst result (here the set to 4+).
    Or another example: Always wounds on 3+ vs Can't be wounded by less than 5+ (or whatever the exact wording from scarification is).
    Those are applied at the same step/group (4) -> the worse one is in effect.


    Does this make things clearer? :)


    Beaugamiel wrote:

    So for example in the case of KoE lets say you have a duke with grail oath getting a 5+ aegis and having faith of percival granting +1 aegis, the priority order in the chart on page 17 would elude to the 5+ effect stacking first then adding the +1 but it is my understanding from the forum and the first quote above that you would apply them in the order that gives the worst outcome.
    So here the duke wil lend up with a 4+ Aegis.
    Oath gives 5+ (step 1)
    The Faith of Percival gives +1 (max 4+) (step 3)

    The rule about "worse outcome" never applies as both of those are in a different group/step.