Miscast

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

  • 13.I Miscasts
    When a player rolls their casting roll and three or more Magic Dice roll the same value, the Casting Attempt results in a Miscast (regardless of whether the Casting Attempt is passed or not). If the Casting Attempt is successful and not dispelled, apply the effects of the Miscast, as determined by the value on the Magic Dice as shown in table 4 .
    If 3 Magic Dice were used for the casting roll, apply a −1 Miscast Modifier (see “Miscast Modifiers and Miscast Table”).
    If 5 Magic Dice were used for the casting roll, apply a +1 Miscast Modifier.
    13.I Miscasts
    When a player rolls their casting roll and three or more Magic Dice roll the same value, the Casting Attempt results in a Miscast (regardless of whether the Casting Attempt is passed or not). If the Casting Attempt is successful and not dispelled, apply the effects of the Miscast, as determined by the value on the Magic Dice as shown in table 4 .
    If 3 Magic Dice were used for the casting roll, apply a −1 Miscast Modifier (see “Miscast Modifiers and Miscast Table ”).
    If 5 Magic Dice were used for the casting roll, apply a +1 Miscast Modifier.

    8,906 times viewed

Comments 2

  • Vulgarsty -

    After death, losing levels and spells is surely the next worse thing - worse than a single hit at any rate. I'd much rather see the miscast table as D6 + PDU to create a 3-11 table with the current 2-4 & 10-12 near the top of that table. Recklessness should be punished!

  • Auere -

    Was thinking about the 2-4 miscast, where the caster just dies if 4 or more dice are used... I think the difference between using 3 and 4 dices is too big, and it should be more gradual. Like saying that the caster must roll equal to or over PDU on a D6. That would be a much more gradual and fun rule.