Bound Spell

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The latest issue of the 9th Scroll is here! You can read all about it in the news.

Our beta phase is finally over. Download The Ninth Age: Fantasy Battles, 2nd Edition now!

  • Some spells are defined as bound spells. Bound spells can be cast by models or units that are not wizards. Possessing a bound spell does not make a model a wizard.
    Bound spells can never be used to cast boosted versions of spells. Casting a bound spell follows the same rules as casting a regular spell with the exception that no casting modifiers can ever be added to the casting roll (such as Wizard Levels) and that the caster of a bound spell never suffers from Lost Focus. To successfully cast a bound spell, the casting roll must be equal to or higher than the spell's Power Level. The Power Level is essentially the spell’s Casting Value. If a spell has both a Power Level and a regular Casting Value, the Power Level takes precedence. If an Overwhelming Power is rolled when casting a bound spell, do not apply the normal Miscast table. If the bound spell was cast with 3 or less Power Dice, nothing happens (the spell is still cast). if it was cast with 4 or more Power Dice, the spell is lost and cannot be used again during this game.

    4,192 times viewed